Why is skyrim rated m.?

Upcoming fantasy role-playing game Skyrim contains a reference to rape and includes a drinking contest, the US ratings board has revealed. Skyrim features blood and gore, intense violence, sexual themes and the use of alcohol, according to the ESRB, which awarded the game a Mature rating.