Was there a civil war?

Yes. The American Civil War lasted from April 12 1861 to May 9 1865. It was a civil war in the United States fought between northern and Pacific states ("the Union" or "the North") and southern states ("the Confederacy" or "the South") that voted to secede and form the Confederate States of America