Why are they called spaghetti westerns?

Spaghetti, Italian, or Macaroni Westerns is a subgenre of Western films made in the mid-1960s due to Sergio Leone's success with Clint Eastwood films such as 'The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly'. The term was used by critics because most of these Westerns were produced and directed by Italians.