Why are they called baby boomers?

Baby boomers were born between 1944 and 1964. They're current between 55-75 years old (76 million in U.S.) They are called that because of the vast number of births post war that occurred, more than any other previous generation

---

Baby Boomers are individuals born between the years of 1946 and 1964. The reason they are called Baby Boomers is because there was statistically a large increase in the number of births at this time.