What was the bloodiest battle of the american civil war?

The Battle of Antietam breaks out beginning early on the morning of September 17, 1862, Confederate and Union troops in the Civil War clash near Maryland's Antietam Creek in the bloodiest single day in American military history.

---

The Battle of Antietam