When was the first megalodon discovered?

Megalodon was first described in 1835 by Swiss-born American naturalist, geologist, and teacher Louis Agassiz, who named the species Carcharodon megalodon. Megalodon would be known by this scientific name until the late 1990s, when a growing group of scientists placed it in the genus Carcharocles.