What happened to all the taygarreans?

Assuming you mean Targaryen from GRR Martin's Game of Thrones, basically there are so little of them because of War. HBO's House of the Dragon is about the last Targaryen Civil War that pretty much wiped out the dragons and a lot of Targaryens. Robert's Rebellion pretty much killed all but two.