What's the definition of debate?

A debate is a formal public discussion about a named subject. In debates, at least 2 opposing arguments are put forward; each side is given time to prepare; each side takes turns stating their case & rebutting each other’s logic; & it ends with a vote by observers to decide the winning argument.