How do you julienne a vegetable?

Cut each vegetable rectangular then cut lengthwise into one-eighth inch slices. Stack several of the slices together and cut lengthwise again, creating thin batons called "julienne." Continue to use this cutting technique with the remaining vegetable pieces.