Why do dogs eat their own throw up?

Dogs eat their own throw up because it seems to them to be a food source. When pups are being weaned mother dogs will regurgitate food for their young to help them adjust to eating solid foods.

---

Dogs usually eat their own throw up because it contains undigested food that still offers nutritional value. It is also a theory that some dogs may eat it as a way to clean up to avoid punishment.