What is parent thesis?

Used in writing to mark off an interjected explanatory or qualifying remark, to indicate separate groupings of symbols in mathematics and symbolic logic. In Grammar a qualifying, explanatory word, phase, clause, or sentence that interrupts a syntactic construction without affecting it.