What happened to the knights templars?

In 1307, Philip IV of France destroyed the order, probably because they denied him additional loans. In October of 1307, many French Templars were arrested and tortured until they confessed to false charges of heresy, satanism and fraud. Many were burned at the stake for their confessions.