What happened to the knights templars?

In 1307, Philip IV of France destroyed the order, probably because they denied him additional loans. In October of 1307, many French Templars were arrested and tortured until they confessed to false charges of heresy, satanism and fraud. Many were burned at the stake for their confessions.

---

On October 13, 1307, many French Templars were arrested, including the order's grand master Jacques de Molay. Under pressure from King Philip, Pope Clement V reluctantly dissolved the Knights Templar in 1312. The group's property and monetary assets were given to the Knights Hospitallers.