When was nail polish invented?

Nail polish originated in China as early as 3000 BC. The ingredients included beeswax, egg whites, gelatin and vegetable dyes. In Ancient Egypt, nail polish was even used to signify class rankings: The lower class often wore nude and light colors, while high society painted their nails red.

---

Nail polish originated in China and dates back to 3000 BCE. ... Around 600 BCE, during the Zhou dynasty, the royal house preferred the colors gold and silver.