What is pokemon mean in japan?

The word "Pokemon" is a contraction of two Japanese words, "Poketto" and "Monsut?," or "Pocket Monsters" in English. The combination of two words to make a single name is a popular way for Japanese titles to transition into English, especially when they're long or similar to trademarked names.