What is a franklin bird?

It's spelled F-R-A-N-C-O-L-I-N. Francolins are terrestrial (though not flightless) birds that feed on insects, vegetable matter and seeds. Most have a hooked upper beak, well-suited for digging at the bases of grass tussocks and rootballs. They have wide tails with fourteen rectrix feathers.