What's the difference between a cheese burger and a patty melt?

A patty melt sandwich is a variant of the classic American cheeseburger. While both of these dishes include ground beef patties and cheese, the hamburger or cheeseburger is served on a soft bun, while a patty melt is prepared with griddled sandwich bread.