How far can a black bear travel in one day?

Most bears travel no more than 3 or 4 miles a day, depending on species, availability of food, time of year, and other factors. Bears have a home range, and they generally limit their travels within this range. The average Grizzly, for example, has a home range of about 70 square miles.