How is caffeine made?

Most of the caffeine in soft drinks comes from factories in China. Naturally extracted caffeine is burned out from heated-up coffee beans. But most of the caffeine used in soft drinks is actually synthetically produced in Chinese pharmaceutical plants.

---

Caffeine naturally occurs in the berries, seeds, and leaves of around 60 plant species.