How do people make rubber?

Latex is gathered from trees by making a cut in the bark and collecting the runny sap in cups. This process is called tapping. To prevent the sap from solidifying, ammonia is added. Acid is then added to the mix to extract the rubber, in a process called coagulation. This takes about 12 hours.