What is the abbreviation m. o. four?

For just the letters, M O, this could be an abbreviation for the state of Missouri, or an abbreviation for the Latin term, Modus Operandi, meaning manner of operating or general habit of doing something. For M O 4, that could be the Soviet Moshka small guard ship, built from 1935 - 1945.