What are prebiotic foods?

Prebiotics are compounds in food that induce the growth or activity of beneficial microorganisms such as bacteria and fung i. The most common example is in the gastrointestinal tract, where prebiotics can alter the composition of organisms in the gut microbiome. Garlic, raw honey, onions R examples