Why is there a divot in the bottom of a wine bottle?

Historically, punts were a function of wine bottles being made by glassblowers. The seam was pushed up to make sure the bottle could stand upright and there wasn't a sharp point of glass on the bottom. It's also thought that the punt added to the bottle's structural integrity.Feb 10, 2012