What is the appropriate gift for a sixtieth wedding anniversary?

The traditional gift for a sixtieth anniversary is a diamond. If this is beyond your budget, anything glittery or diamond-shaped is appropriate. Most couples who've been married for sity years don't need more clutter and might prefer experiences such as a restaurant gift certificate.