Are diamonds breakable?

Well, unlike hardness, which denotes only resistance to scratching, diamond's toughness or tenacity is only fair to good. That is, it is easily breakable by a hammer. The toughness of diamond is about 2.0 MPa which is good compared to other gemstones, but poor compared to most engineering materials.