What is the purpose of an anvil?

In most cases an anvil is used as a forging tool. Before modern welding technology, it was a primary tool of metal workers. Blacksmiths would use the shaped parts of the anvil to form iron objects such as horseshoes and swords by putting the heated iron on the anvil and striking it with a hammer.