Does peanut butter go bad?

Yes peanut butter can go bad. Especially if you get other product in it like jelly. Otherwise it can remain at room temperature for months without spoiling but don't ignore that expiration date.

---

Yes. It is always good to check the expiration date, and to not consume it after the date printed, as it will most likely taste bad.

---

Yes. It can go rancid.