What's a thesaurus?

A thesaurus is a reference book where you can look up a word and find other words that mean close to the same thing.

---

What's a thesaurus? according to Wikipedia, sometimes called a synonym dictionary or dictionary of synonyms, is a reference work which arranges words by their meanings, sometimes as a hierarchy of broader and narrower terms, sometimes simply as lists of synonyms and antonyms