What is a football zombie?

Football Zombie is a video game character which first appeared in Plants vs. Zombies, Plants vs. Zombies: Journey to the West and Plants vs. Zombies: Great Wall Edition. Football Zombie is based on an American football player. Football Zombie first appears in Level 2-6.