What is a wampa from star wars?

Wampas are carnivores closely related to the Yeti. They live on the frozen planet of Thoth, and eat any animal they can catch. They will also eat animals or humans they find frozen in the snow. A Wampa briefly caught Luke Skywalker in the movie Return of the Jedi.