How do you mince ginger?

Peel the ginger—an easy way to do this is to scrape the skin off with the side of a spoon. Slice the ginger as thinly as possible and shingle the slices on the cutting board. Cut across them to make very thin matchsticks. Gather the ginger sticks and thinly slice crosswise to mince the ginger.