What's the difference between cool white and warm white?

Color temperature determines the difference. Warm white has a yellow content and a color temperature of about 3300 Deg. Kelvin. Cool white lacks other color content and has a color temperature above 5500 Deg. Kelvin. The color temperature for a light bulb is printed on the package.