How do you froth milk?

You must first bring the whole, or at least 2%, milk to a scalding level in a pan. This is about 150 degrees; hot but less than a simmer. Then use a handheld milk frothier. Or you can use a French coffee press. Or, when all else fails, use a brisk whisk. Work air into the hot milk to froth it.