What does it mean to process in a water bath?

Water bath processing is a processing method used in home canning for high acid foods. Jars are filled with food, sealed loosely with a lid, then boiled completely covered in vigorously boiling water for a prescribed amount of time indicated by the tested recipe you are using.

---

Water bath processing is a processing method used in home canning for high acid foods. Jars are filled with food, sealed loosely with a lid, then boiled completely covered in vigorously boiling water for a prescribed amount of time indicated by the tested recipe you are using.