What does it mean for mercury to be in retrograde?

Astronomically it means that Mercury appears to be traveling backward in its orbit, as viewed from Earth - it is an optical illusion. Astrologically it means that those areas of life ruled by Mercury tend to be disrupted. These areas include travel, technology, communication and mental activity.