What kind of car was kit in knight rider?

In the original series, KITT was a 1982 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am, voiced by William Daniels. In 2008 the series was rebooted and KITT was a 2008–2009 Ford Shelby GT500KR, voiced by Val Kilmer.