Is o. f. a word?

Yes, "of," spelled O-F, is a valid English word. It's used to indicate a relationship between two nouns, most often where the following noun has somehow generated the preceding one.

---

O.F.A. is an abbreviation for something but not a word itself. It could stand for an organization like Orthopedic Foundation for Animals.