What are billie rubin levels?

Bilirubin testing checks for levels of bilirubin in your blood. It is an orange-yellow substance made during the normal breakdown of red blood cells. It passes through the liver and is excreted out of the body. Higher than normal levels of bilirubin may indicate different types of liver problems.