When was anime founded?

Modern anime began in 1956 but didn't become really popular until 1961 with the establishment of Mushi Productions by Osamu Tezuka, a leading figure in modern manga. Tezuka's Astro Boy was the first anime widely shown to Western audiences in 1963.