Why do people put pickles on their christmas tree?

As part of this tradition, an ornamental pickle is placed on a Christmas tree as one of the decorations. On Christmas morning, the first person to find the pickle on the tree may receive an extra present from Santa Claus or just be said to have a year of good fortune.