Why can't you look into a solar eclipse?

You cannot look into a solar eclipse without proper eye protection because looking directly at the sun can cause “eclipse blindness” or retinal burns. This exposure to the light can cause damage or even destroy cells in the retina, the back of the eye, that transmit what you see to the brain.