What is a durian fruit?

The durian is the edible fruit of several tree species belonging to the genus Durio. Nicknamed the "king of fruits," it is a large, spiky, greenish-brown fruit that is well-loved in Southeast Asia. The fruit is known for its strong odor when ripe, which can vary depending on the variety of durian.