When will the great conjunction happen?

The great conjunction of Jupiter and Saturn reached is peak on December 22 2020. Conjunction means they were lined up from our point of view. This hasn't happened for over 800 years. They will still be seen very close together in the western sky just after sunset for another week or so afterward.