What is the difference between anchovies and sardines?

Sardines are larger with white flesh and a lighter less-intense flavor. Anchovies have darker flesh as a result of curing, and often taste salty. Sardines are served many ways, even right out of the tin on a cracker with mustard. Anchovies are a pizza topping and used to make Caesar dressing.