How do you become a scientologist?

Scientology is open to anyone who seeks spiritual betterment. However, as members get higher in the Scientology church, they are expected to consistently take courses, which cost from $650 (for a beginner class) and quickly escalate into thousands per course. The "audits" cost about $800 per hour.