How many licks does it take to get to the middle of a tootsie roll?

Average of 364 licks is needed to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop, based on experiment performed by a group of engineering students at Purdue University, using licking machine modeled after a human tongue. 20 volunteers also assumed the licking challenge and averaged 252 licks each to the center.