What is sulfur in molasses?

Sulfur is the chemical element of atomic number 16, a yellow combustible nonmetal. One of its compounds, sulfur dioxide (SO2) is often added to the molasses produced from young sugar cane, to act as a preservative and help prevent spoilage.