Did australia go to war with emus?

Yes. Sort of. The settlers attempted — and failed — to call the machine guns into action against the emu in 1934, 1943 and 1948. Parliament — perhaps remembering the reams of bad press and embarrassing lack of dead birds — never again deployed its troops against the mighty emu.