What is the difference between a dwarf planet and a planet?

It is a matter of size and the orbit of the object. Planets orbit a star. Planets vary in size from gas giants to solid rock small planets. An object smaller than a small planted is called a dwarf planet. The title of "a moon" refers to an object that orbits a planet instead of the star.