What is a mandrake root?

A mandrake is the root of a plant, historically derived from plants of the genus Mandragora. Because mandrakes contain deliriant hallucinogenic tropane alkaloids and the shape of their roots often resembles human figures, they have been associated with superstitious practices throughout history.