Is there such a thing as a queen spider?

Real world spiders have eight legs, but the spider queen only has 6. This is a trend with all of the variations of Spiders in Don't Starve. There are few species of social spiders, none of which have a queen. The queens seen in Don't Starve are similar to queen bees, ants, & even termites.